Financial Consumer Protection Committee

The subject of financial consumer protection concerns various business sectors. Consequently, the CSSF considered useful to bring together, within the same committee, the main players concerned in order to discuss the various approaches and, where appropriate, to coordinate future actions. Thus, the Financial Consumer Protection Committee was created in February 2012. The CSSF chairs this committee composed of delegates of the following authorities, institutions and associations representing the public sector, the private sector and consumers:


  • Luxembourg Bankers' Association
  • Luxembourg Insurance Companies Association
  • Association of the Luxembourg Fund Industry
  • Luxembourg Central Bank
  • European Consumer Center
  • Chamber of Commerce
  • Supervsion authority of the insurance companies (Commissariat aux Assurances)
  • Supervision authority of the financial sector (Commission de Surveillance du Secteur Financier)
  • Conférence Nationale des Professeurs des sciences économiques et sociales
  • Inter-Actions
  • Investas
  • Jonk Entrepreneuren Luxembourg (JEL)
  • Ligue Médico-Sociale
  • Ministry of the Economy
  • Ministry of Education, Children and Youth
  • Ministry of Family Affairs, Integration and the Greater Region
  • Ministry of Finance
  • Luxembourg Association of consumers (Union Luxembourgeoise des Consommateurs)
  • University of Luxembourg

The purpose of the committee is not to interfere with the work of the various represented players but to exchange information, to identify areas for improvement, to coordinate certain initiatives or even to carry out joint projects. The aim is to set up a dialogue which enables to achieve concrete results (adaptation of regulatory texts, improvement of the published information, achievement of joint projects in the field of financial education).