Islamic finance

Islamic finance and the Luxembourg financial centre

 

The legal and regulatory framework governing the Luxembourg financial sector is designed to be able to host actors and products from diverse traditions and cultures.

 

There is therefore no need to introduce specific provisions to allow Islamic finance to flourish in Luxembourg's financial centre. At the most, the application of certain tax texts to the concepts used by Sharia-compliant transactions needed to be explained, which was done in a quick and practical manner.

 

Luxembourg authorities will closely follow the growth of Islamic finance activities in the centre, so as to be able to respond swiftly to clarification needs that could arise. To this end, a working group has been created within the Ministry of Finance, which examines, in general, Islamic finance related issues and requirements. This working group is composed of representatives of the Ministry of Finance, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the CSSF, the Luxembourg Bankers' Association (ABBL) and the Association of the Luxembourg Fund Industry (ALFI).

 

Luxembourg authorities are convinced that sustainable growth of Islamic finance in Luxembourg can only be achieved by fully complying with the values expressed in the Sharia. It is therefore not for the supervisory authority to express an opinion in this respect. The supervisory authority was thus able to assist the development, within the Luxembourg legal framework, of Sharia-compliant undertakings for collective investment and the issue  of "sukuk" debt securities from Luxembourg.

 

RTEmagicP_pdf.gif Islamic finance and the Luxembourg financial centre

 

RTEmagicP_pdf.gif Rules applicable to "sukuk" 

 

RTEmagicP_pdf.gif List of MOU

Finance islamique

La finance islamique sur la place de Luxembourg

 

Le cadre législatif et réglementaire du secteur financier au Luxembourg est conçu de façon à pouvoir accueillir des acteurs et des produits provenant de traditions et de cultures diverses.

 

Voilà pourquoi, point n’est besoin d’introduire des dispositions spécifiques afin de permettre l’éclosion de la finance islamique sur la place de Luxembourg. Tout au plus a-t-il été nécessaire d’expliciter l’application de certains textes fiscaux par rapport aux concepts utilisés par des opérations conformes aux préceptes de la Sharia, ce qui fut fait de façon expéditive et pratique.

 

Les autorités luxembourgeoises n’entendent pas moins suivre de près la croissance des activités de finance islamique sur la place, afin de pouvoir répondre rapidement aux besoins de clarification qui pourraient apparaître. A cet effet, il existe notamment au niveau du Ministère des Finances un groupe de travail qui se penche de façon générale sur les questions et exigences propres à la finance islamique. Ce groupe de travail est composé de représentants du Ministère des Finances, du Ministère des Affaires étrangères, de la CSSF, de l’Association des banques et banquiers luxembourgeois et de l’Association professionnelle de l’industrie des fonds d’investissement.

 

Les autorités luxembourgeoises sont convaincues que le développement soutenable de la finance islamique au Luxembourg ne peut avoir lieu que dans le plein respect des valeurs profondes exprimées dans la Sharia. Il n’appartient dès lors pas à l’autorité de surveillance de s’exprimer à cet égard. C’est ainsi que l’autorité de surveillance a pu notamment assister au développement, à l’intérieur du cadre juridique luxembourgeois, d’organismes de placement collectif basés sur la Sharia et à l’émission à partir du Luxembourg d’obligations de types « Sukuk ».

 

 

RTEmagicP_pdf.gif OPC et finance islamique

 

RTEmagicP_pdf.gif Règles applicables aux "sukuk"

 

RTEmagicP_pdf.gif Liste des MOU