Payment institutions/electronic money institutions

Payment institutions and electronic money institutions are governed by the Law of 10 November 2009 on payment services ("the PSL"). The PSL was amended by the Law of 20 July 2018 which transposed Directive (EU) 2015/2366 of 25 November 2015 on payment services in the internal market (PSD2).

 

Payment services are defined in Article 1, point (38) of the PSL as "one or more business activities listed in the Annex, performed on a professional basis". Payment services are listed exhaustively in the Annex to the PSL.

 

Electronic money is defined in Article 1, point (29) of the PSL. It is "a monetary value represented by a claim on the issuer, which is (i) electronically, including magnetically, stored, and (ii) issued on receipt of funds for the purpose of making payment transactions, and (iii) accepted by a natural or legal person other than the electronic money issuer".

Établissements de paiement/de monnaie électronique

Les établissements de paiement et les établissements de monnaie électronique sont régis par la loi du 10 novembre 2009 relative aux services de paiement (la LSP). La LSP a été modifiée par la loi du 20 juillet 2018 transposant la directive (UE) 2015/2366 du 25 novembre 2015 concernant les services de paiement dans le marché intérieur (PSD2). 

 

Les services de paiement sont définis à l'article 1er, point 38) de la LSP comme « une ou plusieurs des activités visées à l'annexe, exercées à titre professionnel ». Les services de paiement sont énumérés limitativement à l'annexe de la LSP.

 

La monnaie électronique est, quant à elle, définie à l'article 1er, point 29) de la LSP. Il s'agit d'une « valeur monétaire représentant une créance sur l'émetteur, qui est i) stockée sous une forme électronique, y compris magnétique, et ii) émise contre la remise de fonds aux fins d'opérations de paiement, et iii) acceptée par une personne physique ou morale autre que l'émetteur de monnaie électronique ».