Right of access to banking services

List of institutions that must provide consumers with a basic payment account in Luxembourg

The following institutions must provide consumers with basic payment accounts in Luxembourg pursuant to Article 23(1) of the Law of 13 June 2017 on payment accounts and: 1. transposing Directive 2014/92/EU of the European Parliament and of the Council of 23 July 2014 on the comparability of fees related to payment accounts, payment account switching and access to payment accounts with basic features, and 2. amending the Law of 15 December 2000 on postal financial services, as amended:

  • Banque et Caisse d’Epargne de l’Etat, Luxembourg
  • BGL BNP Paribas
  • Banque Internationale à Luxembourg
  • Banque Raiffeisen
  • POST Luxembourg.


Please refer to the Law of 13 June 2017 on payment accounts (only in French).