Regulation (EU) No 1286/2014 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 26 November 2014 (“PRIIPs Regulation”) concerns key information documents for packaged retail and insurance-based investment products.

The purpose of the PRIIPs Regulation is to improve information disclosures and protection of retail investors with the provision of a key information document (KID) prior to the subscription of a packaged retail and insurance-based investment product (“PRIIP”).

A PRIIP is an investment where, regardless of the legal form of the investment, the amount repayable to the retail investor is subject to fluctuations because of exposure to reference values or to the performance of one or more assets which are not directly purchased by the retail investor.

Before a PRIIP is made available to retail investors, the PRIIP manufacturer must draw up for that product a KID and publish the document on its website. Moreover, a person advising on, or selling, a PRIIP must provide retail investors with the KID in good time before those retail investors are bound by any contract or offer relating to that PRIIP.

The KID introduces common standards for the presentation of information for retail investors regarding packaged retail and insurance-based investment products which must allow these investors to understand and compare the main risks, features, costs and possible future performance of the products concerned.

The PRIIPs Regulation applies from 1 January 2018.

Luxembourg manufacturers of undertakings for collective investment (UCIs) the units of which are offered or sold to retail investors and persons advising on or selling units of such UCIs (non-UCITS) must comply with the requirements of the PRIIPs Regulation, unless they have chosen to draw up a UCITS-like key investor information document (KIID) in conformity with Article 2 of the law of 17 April 2018 on key information documents for packaged retail and insurance-based investment products (“PRIIPs Law”).

Documentation

Laws, regulations and directives

Other regulatory texts

Forms

Publications

  • 11 December 2019 Communication regarding PRIIPs assessment – investment funds
    Press release
  • 01 July 2019 Communication regarding PRIIPs assessment
    Press release

Contact

Last update: 04 May 2020

Le Règlement (UE) n° 1286/2014 du Parlement européen et du Conseil du 26 novembre 2014 (« Règlement PRIIPs ») régit les documents d’informations clés relatifs aux produits d’investissement packagés de détail et fondés sur l’assurance (« PRIIPs »).

Le Règlement PRIIPs a pour objectif d’améliorer l’information et la protection des investisseurs de détail grâce à la remise, préalablement à la souscription d’un produit concerné (les produits d’investissement packagés de détail et fondés sur l’assurance), d’un document d’informations clés (le Key Information Document ou le « KID »).

Un PRIIP est un investissement, quelle que soit sa forme juridique, pour lequel le montant remboursable à l’investisseur de détail est soumis à des fluctuations parce qu’il dépend de valeurs de référence ou des performances d’un ou de plusieurs actifs que l’investisseur de détail n’achète pas directement.

Avant de mettre un PRIIP à la disposition des investisseurs de détail, l’initiateur dudit produit établit un KID et publie ce document sur son site Internet. En outre, une personne qui donne des conseils au sujet d’un PRIIP ou qui le vend fournit aux investisseurs de détail le KID en temps utile, avant que ces investisseurs ne soient liés par un contrat ou une offre éventuelle portant sur ce PRIIP.

Le KID instaure, pour les produits d’investissement packagés de détail et fondés sur l’assurance, une norme commune pour la présentation des informations destinées aux investisseurs de détail, qui doit permettre à ces derniers de comprendre et de comparer les principaux risques, caractéristiques, coûts et performances futures potentielles des produits en cause.

Le Règlement PRIIPs est applicable depuis le 1er janvier 2018.

Les initiateurs luxembourgeois d’organismes de placement collectif (OPC) dont les parts sont offertes ou vendues aux investisseurs de détail et les personnes qui fournissent des conseils au sujet de ces OPC (non-OPCVM) ou qui les vendent devront se conformer aux conditions du Règlement PRIIPs, à moins qu’ils aient choisi de préparer un document contenant les informations clés pour l’investisseur, similaire à un DICI – KID d’un OPCVM, conformément à l’article 2 de la loi du 17 avril 2018 relative aux documents d’informations clés relatifs aux produits d’investissement packagés de détail et fondés sur l’assurance (« loi PRIIPs »).

Documentation

Lois, règlements et directives

Autres textes réglementaires

Formulaires

Publications

  • 11 décembre 2019 Communication relative à l’évaluation PRIIPs – fonds d’investissement (uniquement en anglais)
    Press release 19/60
    Communiqué de presse
  • 01 juillet 2019 Communication relative à l’évaluation PRIIPs
    Communiqué de presse 19/28
    Communiqué de presse

Contact

Dernière mise à jour : 04 mai 2020