Single Resolution Mechanism

The Single Resolution Board (SRB) having its head office in Brussels is, within the Banking Union, the competent resolution authority for entities and groups directly supervised by the European Central Bank and other cross-border groups.

Following Regulation (EU) No 806/2014 of 15 July 2014 establishing uniform rules and a uniform procedure for the resolution of credit institutions and certain investment firms in the framework of a Single Resolution Mechanism and a Single Resolution Fund and amending Regulation (EU) No 1093/2010 (Single Resolution Mechanism Regulation, SRMR), the SRB forms together with the national resolution authorities of the Banking Union the Single Resolution Mechanism (SRM). The purpose of the SRM is to ensure an orderly resolution of failing banks with minimal costs for taxpayers and for the real economy.

Where necessary, the SRB will use the Single Resolution Fund (SRF) to ensure the efficient application of the resolution tools and the exercise of the resolution powers conferred on it. The SRF is built up by the contributions from all entities of the Banking Union and shall reach its target level of at least 1% of the amount of all covered deposits of all credit institutions within the Banking Union by 31 December 2023. The specific provisions governing the functioning of the SRF are subject to an Intergovernmental Agreement.

Resolution at national level

The Law of 18 December 2015 on the failure of credit institutions and certain investment firms (“2015 Law”), which, notably, transposes Directive 2014/59/EU of 15 May 2014 establishing a framework for the recovery and resolution of credit institutions and investment firms (Bank Recovery and Resolution Recovery Directive, BRRD), designates the CSSF as the national resolution authority (NRA) in Luxembourg. The CSSF exercises the missions and powers assigned to it as resolution authority through the CSSF Resolution Board, whereas the CSSF Resolution department performs the day-to-day tasks related to these missions.

Entities under the remit of the CSSF Resolution Board are by default the ones that are not under the remit of the SRB.

In line with the distribution of responsibilities following the SRMR, between the CSSF Resolution Board and the SRB, the CSSF Resolution department is especially in charge, at individual and group level, to submit the following for decision to the CSSF Resolution Board:

  • adopting resolution plans and resolvability assessments;
  • measures to address or remove impediments to resolvability;
  • applying simplified obligations or granting waivers, among others, to the obligation to draft a resolution plan;
  • setting the minimum requirement for own funds and eligible liabilities, in particular its level;
  • adopting resolution decisions and applying resolution tools in accordance with the relevant procedures and safeguards;
  • writing down or converting relevant capital instruments;
  • executing the instructions issued by the SRB.

As regards collaboration with the SRB, members of the CSSF Resolution department are involved directly in the preparation and drafting of resolution plans of Luxembourg significant banks under the competence of the SRB. They also participate, within the Internal Resolution Teams coordinated by the SRB, in preparing and drafting resolution plans for significant banking groups in the Banking Union which have Luxembourg subsidiaries.

Resolution reporting

Resolution reporting encompasses all the resolution reports and notifications to be transmitted to the CSSF by the entities referred to in Article 2 of the Law of 18 December 2015 on the failure of credit institutions and certain investment firms.

The CSSF collects notably information for drawing up and implementing resolution plans for banks which are either under its direct remit or under the Single Resolution Board’s (“SRB”) remit:

  • The SRB reporting pursuant to Article 11(1) of Directive 2014/59/EU (“BRRD”) and Section B of the Annex to the BRRD, as well as Article 8(4) and Article 34 of Regulation (EU) No 806/2014 (“SRMR”), applicable to entities under the SRB’s remit.
  • The resolution reporting based on Article 3 of the Commission Implementing Regulation (EU) 2018/1624 of 23 October 2018 laying down implementing technical standards with regard to procedures and standard forms and templates for the provision of information for the purposes of resolution plans for credit institutions and investment firms pursuant to the BRRD (commonly known as “EBA resolution reporting”), applicable to entities under the SRB’s remit and entities under the CSSF’s remit.

In addition to the previously mentioned reporting, the following information has to be transmitted to the CSSF by the entities concerned:

  • The MREL and TLAC reporting based on Articles 3 to 6 of the Commission Implementing Regulation (EU) 2021/763 of 23 April 2021 laying down implementing technical standards for the application of the CRR and the BRRD with regarding to the supervisory reporting and public disclosure of the minimum requirement for own funds and eligible liabilities, applicable to entities concerned under the SRB’s remit and entities concerned under the CSSF’s remit.
  • Entities concerned are required to notify the CSSF on the impracticability of the contractual recognition of bail-in based on Article 55(2) of the BRRD.

The document “Resolution Reporting Requirements” provides credit institutions and other entities concerned with additional details regarding the scope and the tables to be provided for the different reporting or notification purposes, specific instructions, contacts, format and technical specifications.

Documentation

Laws, regulations and directives

Circulars

Guidance

Publications

Contact

Resolution Department
(+352) 26 251 - 2676

Mécanisme de résolution unique

Le Conseil de résolution unique (CRU), dont le siège est à Bruxelles, est, au sein de l’Union bancaire, l’autorité de résolution compétente pour les entités et groupes directement contrôlés par la Banque centrale européenne et pour les autres groupes transfrontaliers.

Selon le règlement (UE) n° 806/2014 du 15 juillet 2014 établissant des règles et une procédure uniformes pour la résolution des établissements de crédit et de certaines entreprises d’investissement dans le cadre d’un mécanisme de résolution unique et d’un Fonds de résolution bancaire unique (règlement du mécanisme de résolution unique, RMRU), le CRU forme ensemble avec les autorités de résolution nationales de l’Union Bancaire le Mécanisme de Résolution Unique (MRU). L’objectif du MRU est d’assurer un règlement ordonné des liquidations bancaires avec un minimum de coûts pour les contribuables et pour l’économie réelle.

Le cas échéant, le CRU utilisera le Fonds de résolution unique (FRU) pour appliquer efficacement les outils de résolution et pour exercer les pouvoirs de résolution qui lui sont conférés. Le FRU est constitué par les contributions de toutes les entités de l’Union bancaire et doit atteindre un niveau cible d’au moins 1% du montant de l’ensemble des dépôts couverts de tous les établissements de crédit de l’Union bancaire d’ici le 31 décembre 2023. Des dispositions spécifiques régissant le fonctionnement du FRU sont sujettes à un accord intergouvernemental.

Résolution au niveau national

La loi du 18 décembre 2015 relative à la défaillance des établissements de crédit et de certaines entreprises d’investissement (« Loi 2015 »), qui transpose notamment la Directive 2014/59/UE du 15 mai 2014 établissant un cadre pour le redressement et la résolution des établissements de crédit et des entreprises d’investissement (Bank Recovery and Resolution Directive, BRRD), désigne la CSSF comme autorité de résolution au Luxembourg. La CSSF exerce les missions et les pouvoirs qui lui sont attribués en tant qu’autorité de résolution à travers le Conseil de résolution, tandis que le service Résolution de la CSSF effectue les tâches journalières liées à ces missions.

Le Conseil de résolution est compètent pour les entités qui par défaut ne tombent pas dans le champ de compétence du Conseil de résolution unique (CRU).

En ligne avec la répartition des responsabilités entre le Conseil de résolution et le CRU suivant le RMRU, le service Résolution est notamment en charge, au niveau individuel et consolidé, pour soumettre pour décision au Conseil de résolution :

  • l’adoption des plans de résolution et l’évaluation de la résolvabilité ;
  • des mesures de réduction ou de suppression des obstacles à la résolvabilité ;
  • l’application d’obligations simplifiées ou l’accord de dérogations, entre autres, à l’obligation d’établir un plan de résolution ;
  • la détermination de l’exigence minimale de fonds propres et d’engagements éligibles, en particulier de son niveau ;
  • l’adoption de décisions de résolution et l’application des instruments de résolution conformément aux procédures et mesures de sauvegarde appropriées ;
  • la dépréciation ou la conversion d’instruments de fonds propres pertinents ;
  • l’exécution des instructions émises par le CRU.

Les membres du service Résolution, en collaboration avec le CRU, sont directement impliqués dans la préparation et la rédaction des plans de résolution des banques significatives luxembourgeoises sous la compétence de la SRB. Ils participent également, au sein d’équipes de résolution interne coordonnées par le CRU, à l’élaboration et à la rédaction des plans de résolution pour les grands groupes bancaires de l’Union bancaire ayant des filiales au Luxembourg.

Reporting Résolution

Le reporting résolution comprend l’ensemble des rapports et notifications de résolution à transmettre à la CSSF par les entités visées à l’article 2 de la loi du 18 décembre 2015 relative à la défaillance des établissements de crédit et de certaines entreprises d’investissement.

La CSSF collecte notamment des informations en vue de l’élaboration et de la mise en œuvre des plans de résolution pour les banques qui relèvent soit de son champ de compétence soit de celui du Conseil de résolution unique (CRU) :

  • Les informations demandées par le CRU en vertu de l’article 11, paragraphe 1, de la directive 2014/59/UE (BRRD) et la section B de l’annexe de la BRRD, ainsi que de l’article 8, paragraphe 4, et de l’article 34 du règlement (UE) n° 806/2014 (RMRU), applicables aux entités relevant du champ de compétence du CRU.
  • Les informations de résolution à fournir conformément à l’article 3 du règlement d’exécution (UE) 2018/1624 de la Commission du 23 octobre 2018 définissant des normes techniques d’exécution concernant les procédures, les formulaires types et les modèles à utiliser pour la fourniture d’informations aux fins de l’établissement de plans de résolution pour les établissements de crédit et les entreprises d’investissement conformément à la BRRD (communément connu sous le nom de « reporting résolution de l’EBA », applicable aux entités relevant du champ de compétence du CRU et aux entités relevant du champ de compétence de la CSSF.

Outre le reporting précité, les informations suivantes sont à transmettre à la CSSF par les entités concernées :

  • Les reportings MREL et TLAC à soumettre sur base des articles 3 à 6 du règlement d’exécution (UE) 2021/763 de la Commission du 23 avril 2021 définissant des normes techniques d’exécution pour l’application du CRR et de la BRRD en ce qui concerne la déclaration à des fins de surveillance et la publication de l’exigence minimale de fonds propres et d’engagements éligibles, applicables aux entités concernées relevant du champ de compétence du CRU et aux entités concernées relevant du champ de compétence de la CSSF.
  • Les entités concernées sont tenues d’informer la CSSF de l’impossibilité de la reconnaissance contractuelle du renflouement interne en vertu de l’article 55, paragraphe 2, de la BRRD.

Le document « Resolution Reporting Requirements » fournit des détails supplémentaires aux établissements de crédit et autres entités concernées en matière de champ d’application et de tableaux à soumettre dans le cadre des différents reportings ou notifications, des instructions spécifiques et concernant les contacts, le format et les détails techniques.

Documentation

Lois, règlements et directives

Circulaires

Publications

Contact

Département Résolution
(+352) 26 251 - 2676